Is Dunkin’ Donuts halal?

Is Dunkin’ Donuts halal?

You can check the answer of the people under the question at Quora “dunkin donuts coffee roll ingredients

0 thoughts on “Is Dunkin’ Donuts halal?”

  1. Sure, most of the menu is halal simply because there is a lot of dough and little meat.
    Their meats and sausages are sadly not halal, but they do have a new plant-based Beyond Sausage Sandwich which might prove to be a great alternative. Options you can eat safely halal:
    * veggie egg white sandwich
    * Egg and cheese muffin
    * Hash browns (PETA certified vegan)
    * Beyond Sausage sandwich
    * All the bagel…

  2. Looking at the ingredients list from the Dunkin Donuts site you will find many suspect ingredients. Dunkin Donut does not clarify the sources of the ingredients, so it would be best for Muslim’s to avoid it until 100 percent certain where the source of the following ingredients would come from:
    Whey – which is processed with Rennet, if it is processed from an animal source which was not sacrificed accordingly, then that would make it haram. Unless the source is micro-bacterial which is synthetic and is considered halal
    Mono and Diglycerides – can be derived from animal fat or vegetable oils. Some products do specify vegetable on the ingredients label to clarify the sources for vegans, Jews, and Muslims.
    Enzymes – The source for these can be animal, vegetable, bacterial, or fungal.
    L-cysteine – This ingredient can be sourced from animals or humans (hair). Mainly duck feathers but I am not sure if consuming hair is exactly the healthiest thing to do. The Vegetarian Resource Group (VRG) mentions that Dunkin Donuts’ source is duck feathers.
    From my perspective, I would not eat from them since the sources are not specified and the ingredient list just seems fairly unhealthy. I am sure most people don’t care about the health part when eating donuts but it might be best to find a place that doesn’t use so many ingredients or a made fresh.
    A really nice source of information for vegan information is at this site –

  3. There’s absolutely no animal products used to make any of the baked goods in Dunkin’ Donuts. As such, while it’s not officially Halal certified (with the exception of Dunkin’ Donuts Singapore), it can be essentially be considered halal.
    Here’s an interesting entry from the list that the HALAL RESEARCH COUNCIL provides about chains and products that could be considered Halal.

    Is Dunkin' Donuts halal?

    So you might as well enjoy all those Krispy Kreme’s glaze free donuts too!

    Is Dunkin' Donuts halal?

  4. The Qur’an says all things are halal except those items specified, such as pork products blood and dead meat, alcohol.Therefore the only concern you might have about whether anything is halal or haram, including drinks, vinegar etc, is about contamination. That is very difficult to assess with modern manufacturing, but the point is intent and knowledge.
    Vinegars for instance are made from alcohol (ethanol) which is haram but chemically changes through the process of manufacture into the acid, ethanoic/acetic aka vinegar, regardless of the type, and so are halal.
    Life is a lot more complicated nowadays than it was when Muhammad drafted the Qur’an.

  5. While Crispy Creme does offer “halal” donuts, there is NO clear picture or statement from Dunkin Donuts as to this fact. They would have to be free of gelatin or any pork-based fats or oils to be considered.

    Victor Allen’s

  6. Yes Except For The Meat But The Tuna And Other Fish Is Halal And The Drinks And Donuts Also So You Should Be Fine Aslong As You Stick To The Fish And Vegetarian Options.

  7. Depends where you are and where they’re made. If they’re made anywhere like in USA or Europe, I’d ask the seller, the only ingredient could possibly be shortening which may come in as guilty. If in the middle east and locally made maybe good to go.

  8. Dunkin Donuts are made from flour, yeast, milk, butter, sugar, salt, oil and eggs. The baker’s dry yeast is made of Carbohydrates (sugar, dietary fiber), Fat, Protein, Vitamins (B1, B2,B3, B5, B6, B9, C, Choline, Minerals (calcium, iron, magnesium, manganese, phosphorus, Potassium, Sodium, Zinc) and water.
    Depending on the type of oil used to fry donuts (that it is not derived from haram sources, i.e., suet from dead animals, lard from swine) and that no liquor is used by local bakeries, Dunkin Donuts may be considered halal.

  9. Peace be on you.
    Someone’s on-ground search showed:
    pastries are cooked elsewhere and then brought to store.
    regional facilities use their own shortenings, cooking oil and lard.

    Better ask the store, they do not mind answering.
    Make in home – no worry – no hurry


Leave a Comment